Community Events
Presentation Portal
Awards & Scholarships
Board Members
Educational Programs
Senior Community Resources


NOGA is a multi-disciplinary professional organization in Northwest Ohio that offers educational opportunities to individuals involved in the care of older adults.

Follow NOGA on Facebook Follow NOGA on Facebook!


Awards & Scholarships

Lifetime Achievement Award
The Geriatric Registered Nurses of the Greater Toledo Area was formed in 1967 by nurses, to provide education and support for those involved in the care of older adults. In 1978 the name of the group was changed to the Northwest Ohio Gerontological Association (NOGA). Today, members include many kinds of professionals, caregivers, seniors, educators, and others interested in field of aging. All work together for the purpose of education, and advocacy improve the quality of life for older adults in Northwest Ohio. The Lifetime Achievement Award was establishedd by NOGA in 1986.

Individuals eligible for the award are persons who have made significant contributions in the field of aging. The individual's achievements should represent lifetime service and accomplishments that have had a positive impact on the lives of older adults in northwest Ohio.

Selection Criteria


The recipient will be a person of integrity and high character.


The recipient will have shown evidence of personal belief in the importance of contributing to the aging community.


The recipient's career will be a testimony to his or her belief in the dignity and value of the individual across the lifespan.

Selection Procedure
Eligible nominations will be submitted to the NOGA board and reviewed. Recognition for Lifetime Achievement is not an annual award but it is given periodically as determined by the NOGA board. When awarded it will be presented to the recipient at the final meeting in May.

Past Recipients

Phyllis Morton, 2008
Marcy Kaptur, U.S. Congress
Maggie Kuhn, Gary Panthers
Ken Mahan, Ohio Department of Aging
Harvey Sterns, The University of Akron
Martin Janis, First Director of OH Dept of Aging
Barney Quilter, Speaker Pro Tempore, Ohio House of Representatives
Billie Johnson, Executive Director, Area Office on Aging of Northwest Ohio
Charlotte Shaffer
Chris Cremean



President's Award

Past Recipients

Erin Thompson, 2014
Dr. Lynn Ritter, 2013

Debbie Keller, 2012

Dean Horrigan, 2011


Click here to download the NOGA Community Service Recognition Award application. To open this file, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader.


© 2009-2024 All Rights Reserved, NOGA
Site design/maintenance by
Reality Marketing and Design